gr2013Proudly, the Rizaleño Sulo Editorial Board, led by Prof. Virgilio R. Esguerra, M.A., once again held its 2nd Gawad Rizal to honor seven outstanding Rizaleños in different fields last June 19 at the SM City Taytay Event Center. The affair highlighted the celebration of the 152nd birth anniversary of our national hero, Dr. Jose P. Rizal, since Gawad Rizal aimed to commemorate his traits, dreams and aspirations as a reflection of the Gawad awardees.
This year’s Gawad Rizal awardees were Angono Mayor Gerardo “Gerry” Calderon for Public Management; Juan Sumulong Memorial School Systems Director, Ms. Liwayway Sanvictores for Education; Juan M. Barredo for Business; Teresa Mayor Rodel N. Dela Cruz for Environment; Nickson L. Nimeno for Sports and Youth; Dr. Rodelfo C. Rabanal for Medicine; and Mr. Martiniano F. Tambongco for Cooperative. They were recognized for their successes in their chosen fields of endeavor and their significant contributions in the upliftment of the lives of the Rizaleños.

The event was highlighted with special guests and performers. Dr. William S. Co, Chairman of ICCT Colleges and honorable Consul to the Republic of Namibia; Sir Reghis Romero II, Supreme Commander of the Knights of Rizal; Rizal Governor-elect Rebecca “Nini” Ynares; reelected Vice Governor Frisco San Juan Jr.; Rizal Board Members-elect Jestoni Alarcon and Teddy del Rosario, Jala-jala Mayor-elect Narcing Villaran, DepEd Rizal, teachers, ICCT Students’ Organizations’ officers and students from different schools witnessed the special moment. Also, Ang Nuno Dance Troupe of Angono Lead School for the Arts, ICCT Colleges’ Circle of Talents, and Nocturnal Dance Company gave splendid performances.
The event ended with the launching of Rizal Binhi Awards to be directed to the Rizaleno youth who will be our leaders of tomorrow. The recognition will be on December 30, together with the celebration of Rizal’s death anniversary. (Joyce Chico)